Getting Married in Branson: Marriage licenses

If you are wanting to get married in Branson, there are a few things you should be aware of when obtaining a marriage license.

Obtaining a marriage license

You can get a marriage license at two places in the area:

  • Taney County Courthouse Recorder’s Office
    132 David Road
    Forsyth, MO 65653
  • Stone County Courthouse Recorder’s Office
    108A E 4th Street
    Galena, MO 65656

How to apply

Both parties must be in person at one of the Recorder’s offices listed above.

When you can apply

Monday through Friday (except legal holidays) 8:00 am – 5:00 pm.

When you can pick up your license

There is no waiting period for a Marriage License in Missouri, but applicants must provide a current Driver’s License, Passport or Visa as proof of identity. The Marriage License is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and may be used anywhere within the state of Missouri.

Required Information on the license includes: birth date, social security number, full legal name, level of education, race, and date of the end of a previous marriage. Persons divorced less than 30 days may apply for a marriage license if they acknowledge, in writing, that they understand the divorce can be appealed or set aside within 30 days by the court of jurisdiction.

Both parties must sign an affidavit that all information is true and correct.

After you pick up your license

You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes your marriage. Marriages may be solemnized by any clergyman, either active or retired, who is in good standing with any church or synagogue in the State of Missouri. Marriages may also be solemnized, without compensation by any judge including a municipal judge.

The person performing the ceremony must complete the license, have two witnesses sign it, and return it to the Recorder’s Office (in the envelope provided) within 15 days after the wedding. The license remains on file permanently in the Recorder’s Office.

Marriage Qualifications

Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, MAY NOT marry under the laws of the State of Missouri.

No distinction is made between resident and non-resident individuals.

Applicants (a male and female) must be 18 years of age to marry without parental consent. Persons between the ages of 15 and 17 may obtain a license with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Parents or legal guardians must give consent in person (at the time of application) and have proper identification. If legal guardian is giving consent, a certified copy of guardianship papers must be presented. The custodial parent or legal guardian must also provide a bith certificate for the minor child.

Applicants must provide a current Driver’s License, Passport or Visa.


16 Responses to “Getting Married in Branson: Marriage licenses”

  1. Janie Armstrong on 02 May 2008 at 8:17 am #

    We will be on vacation the weekend of August 29, 30, and 31. We have a couple that will be with us that would like to get married in Branson. We were trying to get all of the legal paperwork requirements ahead of time. Any information you have would be helpful.
    Janie Armstrong

  2. Branson Tourist on 05 May 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    The above information is everything that you need to know. There is the requirement that both parties show up at the county office (which isn’t in Branson). There isn’t a waiting period, so all you should need is to show up, pick up the marriage license, and take it to a clergy person.

  3. Jeanne Turner on 01 Jun 2008 at 4:58 pm #

    We are coming to MO from WI to get married on June 18th and will be going to the courthouse to get our marriage license two days prior. If I understood correctly, there is no waiting period any longer in the state of MO. Is this actually true and can we obtain our lisence on the spot that same day?

    Please reply!

  4. Branson Tourist on 02 Jun 2008 at 9:21 am #

    Yes, there is no waiting period, the change was implemented last year in the Summer. You will have to show up at one of the listed courthouses to get the license however.

  5. Regina on 04 Jul 2008 at 12:49 pm #

    Why is it required that both paties have to be presant to get the licenses If one is not able to make it then that means that they have to take time off work or hope they can make it before you close.

  6. Branson Tourist on 14 Jul 2008 at 9:43 am #


    Both parties must be present in order to verify that both parties authorize the marriage and are eligible to be married and are who they say they are.

  7. Denni hausback on 17 Jul 2008 at 2:49 pm #

    we plan on coming down around Labor day weekend how can we apply before coming down and also will the courthouse be closed the week before or have different hours? can you recommend a wedding chapple or justice of the peace??????

  8. Alicia on 28 Jul 2008 at 12:29 am #

    I live in branson and will be getting married soon. i would like to know some of the best places for a small wedding in or around branson. We are wanting somewhere outdoors and beautiful, but at the same time we want somthing senseablly priced.

  9. Rebecca Johnson on 06 Nov 2008 at 7:03 pm #

    My husband and I are getting married soon , so we thought why not do it while we are on vacation in Branson. So my question is ,, can we get married at the court house?

  10. Branson Tourist on 12 Nov 2008 at 1:37 pm #


    You can get married at the courthouse.

  11. Paul and Ellen on 20 Nov 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    We would like to get married in Branson. The courthouse would be fine but who do we contact to make these arrangements. We have read and understand the qualifications for the license.

    Thank you.

  12. Sean Murray on 21 Nov 2008 at 8:33 pm #

    Contact the following for setting up a marriage appt. with a municipal judge:

    Lisa Westfall
    City Clerk /
    Court Administrator
    110 W. Maddux
    Suite 205
    Branson, Mo 65616
    417-335-4354 fax
    [email protected]

  13. Robert and Kimberly on 03 Dec 2008 at 5:56 am #

    We would like to get married in Branson, Mo in Dec. Is the courthouse open Dec 26 or the 27 and are the places to obtain a marriage license open as well?

  14. Sean Murray on 05 Dec 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    Call these folks for your answer about operating days:

    You can get a marriage license at two places in the area:

    * Taney County Courthouse Recorder’s Office
    132 David Road
    Forsyth, MO 65653

    * Stone County Courthouse Recorder’s Office
    108A E 4th Street
    Galena, MO 65656

    Sean Murray

  15. Elizabeth on 14 Apr 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    If we are residents of another state, what contact if any will there be with the courthouse in the area that we live in. I have a very public life and would just prefer that my marriage is private and not listed in the papers here. Is that possible?

  16. Branson Tourist on 15 Apr 2009 at 7:50 am #


    Honestly, we have no idea. If you have a marriage license, then it is legal everywhere in the US. Whether or not the courthouse is going to contact the courthouse of your residence is something you’ll have to call to find out.

    The contact information is listed above.